Achieving Success: My Journey to Passing the Microsoft Azure Fundamentals (AZ 900) Exam

Here’s my story of passing the Microsoft Azure Fundamentals exam in 2023

Kalhara Tennakoon
3 min readJan 26, 2023
Microsoft Certified: Azure Fundamentals Certificate

In 2023, one of my goals is to attain the Microsoft Azure Fundamentals certification. I am thrilled to announce that I was able to accomplish this goal in January.

My first encounter with this certification was in 2022 when I came across a LinkedIn post discussing it. Subsequently, I conducted some research on the certification and the process required to obtain it.

However, due to my preoccupation with my studies, I was unable to dedicate a significant amount of time to studying the necessary materials and taking the exam. Therefore, I added the Microsoft Azure Fundamentals exam to my to-do list with the intention of completing it at a later time when I had more availability.

The Beginning

As previously mentioned, obtaining the AZ 900 certification was on my list of objectives for the year 2023. As a result, it was relatively simple for me to plan my actions for the upcoming year before 2023 began.

Thankfully, I came across an event titled “Microsoft Azure Virtual Training Day: Fundamentals” shared by Microsoft Sri Lanka in December 2022, and I promptly registered for the event in order to gain insight on how to begin my journey towards achieving the certification.

Additionally, I have a personal habit of adding calendar events for any events I register for, as it allows me to seamlessly coordinate with my other appointments and ensures that I do not miss any important information.

Microsoft Azure Virtual Training Days

This event typically takes place over the course of two separate days, and upon successful registration, attendees are provided with a unique link to access the event.

The benefits of participating in this event include explanations of the various sections of Azure Fundamentals, additional resources, and live demonstrations of creating Azure resources within the Azure Portal. Even for those with no prior experience with Microsoft Azure, this event serves as a valuable motivator to create a free subscription and gain hands-on experience.

Most importantly, upon successful completion of the event, attendees receive a free voucher to schedule their AZ 900 exam at no cost. Therefore, I highly recommend attending this event for individuals who are planning to take the AZ 900 exam.

For more information on upcoming Microsoft Azure Virtual Training Days, you can visit the link provided below.

Learning Materials for Azure Fundamentals

The event mentioned above provides a comprehensive understanding of Azure Fundamentals and the certification criteria.

However, I would also recommend referring to the Microsoft Learn materials related to Azure Fundamentals, which can be found using the link provided below.

Additionally, for those who prefer video tutorials and sample questions related to Azure Fundamentals, a wealth of resources can be found on YouTube.

Scheduling the Exam

The same website used for accessing the learning materials previously mentioned can also be utilized to schedule your AZ 900 exam.

However, it is important to ensure that you schedule your exam after receiving the voucher obtained by attending the Microsoft Virtual Training Days (you will receive a separate email containing information on scheduling your exam after participating in the event).

You can find more details about the Pearson test environment by following the links provided below.

Conclusion

I hope that my experience in obtaining the Microsoft Azure Fundamentals certification will be of assistance to those who are also planning to take the exam. I wish you the best of luck with your exam.

Thank you for reading.

If you found this article useful, consider subscribing to my email list and get the latest content delivered straight to your inbox. 📩

--

--

Kalhara Tennakoon

Full Stack Developer | DevSecOps & AI Enthusiast | Technical Writer